Summer romance | Fiction

Deleted Scene

from Rocky Road to Love

Heather Kinnane
3 min readSep 8, 2024

--

illustrated cover showing a man and woman standing apart on a beach — an ice-cream van visible behind them, with the title ‘Rocky Road to Love’ at the top, and author name Heather Kinnane at the bottom

Rocky Road to Love is a sweet summer romance I wrote several years ago, that then languished on my hard drive, forgotten, while other, shinier, things, caught my attention… I discovered it earlier this year and those of you who’ve been following me for a while will have seen probably seen at least a chapter or two as I shared them on Medium.

This scene was deleted from an early draft… there is a version of it in the final story, but I really felt that Jarrett was being too much of an entitled jerk here, and not great boyfriend material, so it ended up very differently in the final scene…

At the end of the day, Hope pulled down the roller shutter.

“You aced it!” she said, putting her hand up for Madeliene to high-five.

“It was pretty fun, actually,” Madeliene admitted, removing her cap and apron. “But I can’t wait to get home and have a long soak in the bath. I’m exhausted.”

“Not yet,” Hope said. “First I want you to meet Jake. Got to build up the excitement for our double date.”

“What? Surely you haven’t organised that already?”

Hope grinned. “Of course I have. Got to be organised. We’re booked into the restaurant here, actually, on…

--

--

Heather Kinnane

Author of both sweet and steamy romance and short stories. Check out my books at https://www.heatherkinnane.com/books